Connect with us

Adelaide Crows

“Former AFL premiership captain secures pivotal role for beloved club with heartfelt declaration: ‘I love my football club'”



Warren Tredrea, a former AFL premiership captain, has been elected to serve on the board of Port Adelaide for a three-year term.

According to the club, Tredrea emerged as the successful candidate in the Director election, securing 50.9% of the ballots, while Bruce Abernethy received 49.1%.

The margin between the two candidates was just 199 votes.

David Koch, Chairman of Port Adelaide Football Club, expressed his satisfaction with Tredrea’s election, highlighting his extensive experience as both a champion player and a media personality, deeming him “a valuable addition to the club’s Board of Directors.”

Koch stated, “Having Tredrea’s knowledge and experience at the Board table will be invaluable.”



A total of 10,405 member ballots were received, indicating significant member engagement in the club’s affairs. Koch extended his gratitude to Bruce Abernethy for his nomination and acknowledged his ongoing dedication to Port Adelaide.

Tredrea replaces Kathy Nagle, who opted not to seek re-nomination after completing her three-year term. Koch commended Nagle for her significant contributions to the club and expressed hope for her continued involvement.

Despite Tredrea’s illustrious 14-season career and his leadership in securing the club’s inaugural AFL Premiership in 2004, his election stirred speculation regarding its implications for the club’s future.

Contrary to external perceptions linking Abernethy’s support for coach Ken Hinkley and Tredrea’s alleged criticism, it was clarified that Abernethy’s intentions were not solely aligned with Hinkley’s support.

Abernethey expressed his deep affection for the club and his desire to contribute positively. Similarly, Tredrea emphasized his readiness to give back to the club he loves, highlighting a desire to contribute positively at this stage of his life.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © 2023. All Rights Reserved