Connect with us

Hibernian

Disaster: Hibs management concluded about head Coach Montgomery ….

Published

on

Nick Montgomery reckons all three penalty decisions were incorrect during Hibernian’s 2-1 home defeat against Celtic.

Dylan Levitt’s thunder strike had given Hibs hope after Adam Idah’s early penalty put the visitors in front at the break. But they were handed the ultimate sucker punch during second half stoppage time, with Idah converting another spot kick following a foul on Kyogo Furuhashi inside the box. It was agony for Hibs, who battled hard throughout and limited Celtic to very few clear-cut opportunities.

Ref Nick Walsh gave Celtic a penalty during the first five minutes as Nectarios Triantis clashed heads with Alistair Johnston. His counterpart Brendan Rodgers suggested his team were fortunate to receive certain refereeing calls and Montgomery believes that same outcome wouldn’t have been made if the collision, which ended Johnston’s evening, happened anywhere else on the pitch.

He then went on to criticise the officials’ part in two further decisions that went against the Edinburgh club. Firstly, Martin Boyle being booked for an apparent dive rather than being checked for a possible penalty and then Celtic’s elusive winner, where VAR stepped in to alert Walsh that Kyogo had been brought down by Joe Newell in the 18-yard box

Speaking to Sky Sports, Montgomery bemoaned: “I’m really proud of the boys’ efforts. I thought we probably deserved to win the game. I don’t really need to say much because I think everybody can watch that live and make their own minds up. I’ve seen some of the incidents and it’s just really disappointing.

“My thoughts are; the first one Nectar has gone up to try and win the header. Again, I’ll have to watch it again, but I think they’ve both gone up to win the header and if that happens anywhere else on the pitch, I think the ref just stops the game and possibly just gets treatment for the players and maybe a drop ball.

“Again, I’ve not seen it really close but I thought the second one, I didn’t know anyone who really thought that was a penalty including the fans or the Celtic players and then he goes over to the VAR.

“Then obviously Martin Boyle’s penalty. I think if someone calls him [Walsh] over to have a look at that then there’s contact. He has come in from behind and caught him on his thigh. So it doesn’t matter how he’s fallen down, if he goes over to look at it on VAR then it’s a penalty



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending

Copyright © 2023. All Rights Reserved